Teacher Quality Committee

How it works and purpose:

In its 2007 general session, the Iowa Legislature appropriated funds for teacher professional development. This legislation required that districts develop Teacher Quality Committees that would have authority to oversee the use of the funds in their district. The District committee includes an equal number of teachers and administrators. The committee responsibilities are:

Monitor local implementation of the Student Achievement and Teacher Quality program. 
Determine use and distribution of the professional development funds. (Funds used to support district, attendance centers and individual plans.) 
Monitor the professional development in each attendance center. 
Make recommendations to the School Board regarding the expenditures of market factor funds. 
Monitor the District teacher evaluation program for fairness and consistency. 
Function under the Iowa Open Meetings Law. 
Be informed of District’s plan for implementation of the Iowa Core Curriculum. 
Allocate funds for PD related to the Core Curriculum implementation and distribute funds according to the plan.

Committee Members:

Committee Chairperson: Mary Ellen Maske

Teacher Quality Liaison: Tania Johnson

Members: Pat Carlin (Teacher - ES),
 Cindy Hutcheson (Teacher - MS),
 Ashley Weaver (Teacher - HS), 
 Carla Riley (Teacher - ELSC),
 Noreen Bush (Associate Superintendent - HS), 
 Kent Ryan (Principal - ES),
 Eric Christensen (Director, Culture & Climate),
 Linda Reysack (Principal - MS) 

Secretary: Laura Eveland



Monday, May 14, 2018

Teacher Quality Committee Meeting - Monday, May 14, 2018 @ 4:00 PM

Agenda / Minutes
Monday, April 23, 2018

Teacher Quality Committee Meeting - Monday, April 23, 2018 @ 4:00 PM

Agenda / Minutes
Monday, March 26, 2018

CANCELLED - Teacher Quality Committee Meeting - Monday, March 26, 2018 @ 4:00 PM