Audit Committee

How it works and purpose:

The Audit Committee will provide the Cedar Rapids Community District with the practical means for the Board of Education to provide independent review and oversight of the District’s financial reporting processes, internal controls, and independent auditors. The Audit Committee will also provide a forum separate from management in which auditors and other interested parties can candidly discuss concerns.

The Audit Committee will help to ensure that District management properly develops and adheres to a sound system of internal controls, that procedures are in place to objectively assess District management practices and that the independent auditors, through their own review, objectively assess the District’s financial reporting processes.

Committee Members:

Gary Becker - Chairperson 2017-2018
Cedar Rapids Bank & Trust

Scott Szymanek
Eldon C. Stutsman, Inc.

Gordon Epping
Principal of Gordon Epping, LLC

Tom Hoffmann
Benefit Solutions Inc.

Andrew Tiedt
CCB Packaging

Maureen Oviatt

Richard Patterson
Winding Pathways, LLC

Matthew Walz
Iowa Northern Railway

Bridgett Wood
Foster's Appliance Center


Independent Auditing Firm Representative 

Heidi Hobkirk

Andrew Pickering


board of education representative

Director Jennifer Borcherding


Cedar Rapids School District Representatives – non-committee members

Steve Graham
Executive Director – Business Services

Sherry Luskey
Manager – Accounting Department

2-17-2018 Meeting Dates -

please contact Business Services Office to confirm meeting/date/time @319/558-2311

Wednesday, September 27, 2017 - 12:00 PM
Friday, October 20, 2017 - 12:00 PM - Orientation
Wednesday, November 15, 2017 - 12:00 PM
Wednesday, December 13, 2017 - 12:00 PM
Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 12:00 PM
Wednesday, March 7, 2018- 12:00 PM
Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 12:00 PM
Wednesday, May 2, 2018- 12:00 PM
Wednesday, June 6, 2018 - 12:00 PM