School Funding Support

CRCSD Budget at a Glance

Click image to view 

BudgetImageSM

Contact Your Legislator  

Community members are invited to contact Iowa legislators on behalf of adequate school funding. Simply click a name below to send your message. You may add additional text to the pre-populated message (i.e., a personal comment, your name/contact information, etc.) if you choose. If your message does not pre-populate, simply copy and paste the text below into an email to send to any of the legislators.



Sample letter


Dear Legislator,

It is crucial that you support Iowa students through adequate supplemental state aid. For our Cedar Rapids Community School District this means approving an increase of 3.72%.

Our school district has already made significant reductions, even as our enrollment as remained steady. There are 139 fewer staff members working in the District now than five years ago. Beyond the reductions in staff, we have implemented cost savings measures with our paper/printing, travel, energy usage, and supplies, to name a few. Going forward reductions will be at the expense of the education program. Our students will likely be faced with larger class sizes and fewer teachers and staff to support their learning.

Please value and respect the educational needs of all Iowa students through adequate school funding. The future of the State of Iowa depends on it.

Sincerely,
 

Name & Contact Info


purple_line

 


State Senators


Rob Hogg - rob.hogg@legis.iowa.gov
Wally Horn - wally.horn@legis.iowa.gov
Liz Mathis - liz.mathis@legis.iowa.gov
Dan Zumbach - dan.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov


State Representatives
 

Liz Bennett - liz.bennett@legis.iowa.gov
Kraig Paulsen - kraig.paulsen@legis.iowa.gov
Ken Rizer - ken.rizer@legis.iowa.gov
Kirsten Running-Marquardt - kirsten.running-marquardt@legis.iowa.gov
Art Staed - art.staed@legis.iowa.gov
Quentin Stanerson - quentin.stanerson@legis.iowa.gov
Todd Taylor - todd.taylor@legis.iowa.gov


purple_line
 

You may also copy and paste the text into a message to the Governor's Office or to any other legislator. Thank you. 



Iowa Governor's Office
 

1007 East Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50319 (515) 281-5211
https://governor.iowa.gov/constituent-services/register-an-opinion



Legislator Directory
 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/legislators/find?address=&city=